Google announced that a client account can only have one owner instead of multiple owners. In this article, we’ll elaborate on that change, and figure out possible threats for advertisers and agencies. Don’t worry! We’ll tell you how to deal with these changes.

Quick Links

What is Ownership?

Why is Google Making the Ownership Changes?

What to Watch Out for

Communication between agencies and clients

Be aware of the “natural flow”

How to Handle PromoNavi Users

Wrap Up

What is Ownership?

The owner is the top-level user of a Google Ads account. The owner is superior to the admin in terms of the available permissions.

The owner can exclusively:

  • Invite users with administrative access to the client account
  • Remove users from the client account
  • Grant or revoke administrative access to users on the client account
  • Accept and decline link requests from other managers to the client account
  • Turn off ownership
  • Transfer ownership to another manager account
  • Unlink other managers from the client account
  • Enable remarketing list sharing in the client account so that the client account’s lists can be shared with other accounts in the manager account

Like Lord of the Rings, the one with the ring has the ultimate power and there is only one ring that rules them all.

Why is Google Making the Ownership Changes?

The main change is that from the 28th of May until the 30th of July, accounts will emigrate from possibly having multiple admin owners to a single ownership. If the client’s account has multiple owners, Google will assign the oldest MCC as an owner. Up until 30th of July, clients can choose the MCC they want to transfer the ownership to.

Google states the following reasons for the change:

“Multiple administrative owners may lead to issues such as “unclear trumping behavior for manager-level settings.”

And:

“In order to set the stage for more advanced manager account features, including easier list sharing and additional manager-level settings, it is critical for Google to ensure that each Google Ads account has only one manager account designated as owner.”

Besides the reasons stated, this seems to be another push from Google to get better insights and more control over the ads’ accountability. This may be related to political reasons as Google may want to hold account owners responsible for legal infringements, which is difficult to do when there is no clarity as to who the advertiser is and there is no clear account owner.

The ownership update can be closely connected to the following updates:

What to Watch Out for

The fact that the top-level access will change from multiple owners to one owner means that many people will lose their top-level access as of the 30th of July.

Communication between agencies and clients

Commonly, both the client and the agency used to have administrative access.

Generally, the clients have access since they are the parties on whose behalf ads are being displayed and are the parties that normally pay the invoices for it. They also decide which agency they end up working with, and have the right to terminate these agreements as well.

On the other hand, the agency normally has access for more practical reasons. As they are managing the ads, they may be trusted with access to add new users to the account when they assign managers to client accounts. They may also want to link external tools or share remarketing lists with the client’s other accounts.

So, both owners and agencies may be interested in claiming ownership access.

It is important for agencies to get in touch with the client to discuss the changes and who will be responsible for managing the ownership access for the duration of the cooperation.

Be aware of the “natural flow”

Advertisers and agencies must understand how the ownership flows naturally. In case a proactive attitude is not taken and the deadline expires, there is a good chance that sole ownership flows to an unintended account.

Unintended accounts may be ex-employees, old agencies whose cooperation has already ended, or even old email accounts that are no longer accessible for various reasons.

As the ownership account will be the only account that has permission to transfer the ownership rights to another account, it is extremely important to prevent ownership from going to an incorrect account! Also, be aware that account creators are not notified when ownership changes are made.

By default, in a single account, the creator of the account is the owner. If the account is set up within an MCC-account, then the MCC account becomes the owner. If an MCC links an existing account, it won’t have ownership of that client account by default. So, you should choose the owner manually.

If the account has several connected MCCs, only the one that has been connected the longest will have ownership rights. If you would like to change that, ownership rights should be turned off for all other MCC accounts except the one that needs to have ownership access.

How to Handle PromoNavi Users

You’re an agency

Check your client accounts and find those with 2 or more owner MCC accounts. Set the owner as the only one MCC linked to PromoNavi. By doing this, you’ll keep the ability to get recommendations and automated reporting on your client accounts.

Note! If you don’t do this, Google will set ownership for the MCC connected earlier. Other manager accounts will be deleted from the MCCs list. So do this responsibly!

You will find how to transfer ownership in Google Ads Help.

You’re an advertiser

Choose the MCC for which you want transfer ownership. Whichever MCC you choose, you can use the PromoNavi tools as before.

Wrap Up

If you haven’t done so already, please talk with your partners (owners or agencies), discuss the upcoming changes, and decide on the account ownership.

By 30th of July, at the latest, make sure to go through your ownership settings. These can be found on your “account access page” or if you are managing an MCC, in your “MCC settings” -> “sub-account settings” and select the appropriate owner.

Familiarize yourself with the natural flow of the accounts. It’s important because an ownership account could get disconnected from a Google Ads account.

Good luck and make sure not to get locked out 🙂